National Association of Animal Breeders Announces 2020 Peer Award Recipients

October 5, 2020

National Association of Animal Breeders Announces
2020 Peer Award Recipients

Madison, WI. – The National Association of Animal Breeders (NAAB) is pleased to announce the recipients of the four NAAB Peer Awards.   These Awards are designed to recognize individuals that have made a significant contribution to the furtherance of the artificial insemination industry.   Nominations were submitted by NAAB members as well as the Research community, and the selection of the recipients was completed by an anonymous selection process.  Typically, award announcements follow the presentation of the awards at the Business Luncheon held in conjunction with the Technical Conference.  However, due to Covid-19, the 2020 Technical Conference has been rescheduled for October 2021. 

  • The Research Award recipient is Dr. John Cole.  Dr. Cole is a research geneticist at the Animal Genomics and Improvement Laboratory (AGIL) at the Beltsville Research Center.  Since January 2016, he has also served as the Acting Research Leader.  Dr. Cole received his undergraduate and graduate degrees from Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, LA. and has authored a total of 126 peer-reviewed articles and many book chapters.  He was instrumental in the application of Genomic Selection for dairy cattle, which has impacted the USA and global dairy industries.
  • The Distinguished Service Award recipient is Mr. John Schouten.   Mr. Schouten commenced his employment with World-Wide Sires 34 years ago as Area Director of Marketing and progressed to the position of Chief Executive Officer.  In 1987, he learned German and traveled extensively throughout Europe.  His passion for International Marketing has made him an excellent ambassador for the US A.I. industry.  
  • The Pioneer Award recipient is Mr. Doug Wilson.  Mr. Wilson is the retired CEO of Cooperative Resources International (CRI).  After obtaining his degree in Dairy Science from Iowa State University, he commenced his career in the A.I. industry and worked in the industry for 49 years.  His involvement in developing Breeding Programs and linear type evaluation systems are only a few examples of his commitment to advancing the genetics industry for the benefit of the producer.
  • The Member Director Award recipient is Mr. Dan Andreas.  Mr. Andreas was elected in May 2016 as Chairman of the Select Sires Board of Directors and led the organization through the implementation of several growth projects.  He joined the Select Sires Board in 2007 and served on the COBA Board since 2002.  He and his family own the Andreas Dairy Farm in Sugarcreek, Ohio.  It’s a sixth-generation family farm where they milk 1,200 cows, farm 3,500 acres, and along with the family employ 26 full-time staff.

These Award recipients will be recognized and presented with their awards during a special luncheon on October 28, 2021 in Lake Geneva in conjunction with the NAAB Technical Conference.  More detailed informational news releases on each Award recipient will be sent at a later date.

NAAB congratulates all four recipients of the NAAB Peer Awards and thanks them for their continued service.